DRIVER WARNING DID UNLAWFULLY VIOLATE:

21-502(a)2	Failure to stop for pedestrian in crosswalk Driver of a vehicle shall come to a complete stop when a pedestrian crossing the roadway in a crosswalk is: (i) on the half of the roadway on which the vehicle is traveling or (ii) approaching from an adjacent lane on the other half of the roadway. Penalty: \$80 or up to \$500.00. One Point.
21-502(c)	Passing a vehicle stopped for a pedestrian It is unlawful for a driver to pass a vehicle that is stopped for a pedestrian either in a marked or unmarked crosswalk. Penalty: \$80 or up to \$500.00. One Point.
21-202(c)	Failure to yield right-of-way when turning on green signal Vehicles facing a circular green signal, including any vehicle turning left or right, shall yield right-of-way to any pedestrian lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk. Penalty: \$90 or up to \$500.00. One Point.
21-202(h)	Failure to stop at clearly marked stop line Vehicles facing a steady circular red signal or red arrow signal shall stop at the near side of the intersection at a clearly marked stop line, or before entering the crosswalk. Penalty: \$140 or up to \$500.00. Two Points.
21-202(k)	Failure to yield to pedestrian before turn on red Vehicles facing a red signal shall, after stopping, yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk. Penalty: \$90 or up to \$500.00. One Point.
21-504(a,b,c)	Failure to exercise due care to avoid hitting a pedestrian The driver of a vehicle shall exercise due care to avoid colliding with any pedestrian, shall warn any pedestrian by sounding a horn, and shall exercise proper precaution on observing any confused or incapacitated pedestrians. Penalty: \$70 or up to \$500.00. One Point.
21-801(h)	Special dangers as to pedestrians The driver of a vehicle shall drive at an appropriate, reduced speed when any special danger exists as to pedestrians. Penalty: \$90 or up to \$500.00. One Point.

YOU HAVE RECEIVED A WARNING FOR FAILURE TO ABIDE BY THE MARYLAND LAW(S) INDICATED ABOVE.

THIS IS ONLY A WARNING AND WILL NOT RESULT IN ANY LEGAL ACTION. HOWEVER, FURTHER VIOLATIONS MAY RESULT IN AN ACTUAL CITATION BEING ISSUED.

On average, every year more than **100 pedestrians are killed** and more than **2,500 pedestrians are injured** in Maryland as a result of collisions with motor vehicles.

Look Out for Each Other!

Maryland Highway Safety Office State Highway Administration (410) 787-4050 Toll Free: (888) 963-0307 www.choosesafetyforlife.com

Choose Safety for Life*



PEDESTRIAN WARNING DID UNLAWFULLY VIOLATE:

21-202(I)	Failure to obey red traffic signal Pedestrian facing a steady red traffic signal alone may not enter the roadway. Penalty: \$80 or up to \$500.00.	
21-203(c)	Failure to obey pedestrian control signal Pedestrian may not start to cross the roadway in the direction of a solid "don't walk" or "upraised hand" signal. Penalty: \$40 or up to \$500.00.	
21-503(a)	Failure to yield right-of-way to vehicle If a pedestrian crosses a roadway at any point other than in a marked crosswalk or in an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection, the pedestrian shall yield the right-of-way to any vehicle. Penalty: \$40 or up to \$500.00 .	
21-503(c)	Failure to cross at signalized intersection Between adjacent intersections at which a traffic control signal is in operation, a pedestrian may cross only in a marked crosswalk. Penalty: \$40 or up to \$500.00 .	
21-503(d)	Crossing intersection diagonally Pedestrian may not cross an intersection diagonally unless authorized by a traffic control device. Penalty: \$40 or up to \$500.00.	
21-506(a,b)	Pedestrian unlawfully on roadway Where a sidewalk is provided, a pedestrian may not walk along and on an adjacent roadway. Where no sidewalk is provided, a pedestrian may walk only on the left shoulder or on the left side of the roadway, facing traffic. Penalty: \$40 or up to \$500.00.	
YOU HAVE RECEIVED A WARNING FOR FAILURE TO ABIDE BY THE MARYLAND LAW(S) INDICATED ABOVE.		
THIS IS ONLY A WARNING AND WILL NOT RESULT IN ANY LEGAL ACTION. HOWEVER, FURTHER VIOLATIONS MAY RESULT IN AN ACTUAL CITATION BEING ISSUED.		
On average, every year more than 100 pedestrians are killed and more than 2,500 pedestrians are injured in Maryland as a result of collisions with motor vehicles.		
Look Out for Each Other!		
Maryland Highway Safety Office State Highway Administration (410) 787-4050 Toll Free: (888) 963-0307 www.choosesafetyforlife.com		

Choose Safety for Life *

