

# Miss Utility Information and Requirements



## **Overview**

## **Annotated Code od Maryland Public Utilities Article Title XII**

Title XII relates to the utility damage prevention of underground facilities and is commonly referred to as the "Miss Utility Law"

MDOT SHA was included as an Owner-Member in Miss Utility Law October 1, 2010

The Miss Utility Law was revised on March 15, 2021



## **Miss Utility Law Summary**:

- Expands the scope of the Underground Facilities Damage Prevention laws to apply to an owner or lessee of a private residence who performs an excavation or demolition on the land of the private residence
- Establishes the Maryland Underground Facilities Damage Prevention Authority and the Maryland Underground Facilities Damage Prevention Education and Outreach Fund



## **Miss Utility Law Summary Continued:**

- Authorizes the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) and MDOT's Transportation Business Units (TBUs) to collect certain fees.
- Establishes a "One-Call" system (Miss Utility) and requires owners of underground facilities to be a member of Miss Utility including MDOT and MDOT's TBUs
- Requires a person/company that intends to perform an excavation/ demolition in the State to contact Miss Utility to create a ticket
- Establishes a set valid ticket timeframe and tickets; both excavation/demolition and design



## **Miss Utility Law Summary Continued:**

- Establishes a working agreement regarding the schedule for marking underground facilities on State property
- State agencies must provide a response back to Miss Utility within a set timeframe on all excavation/demolition and design tickets
- Person(s)/Companies may only excavate/demolish upon clearance from the Miss Utility Call Center. Person(s)/Companies that begin without clearance –"dig at their own risk"
- Ticket types: Excavate/Demolish and Nonexcavation



MDOT SHA will invoice contractors/individuals the following fee per ticket:

- \$27.00 on tickets coded as "Clear / No Conflict."
- \$35.00 on tickets coded as "Marked."
- "Updated" Tickets are charged as:
  - > "Clear / No Conflict" are \$0.00, No Charge
  - **Remarked**" are \$15.00
- \$0.00 on tickets coded as "Cancelled."



Title XII allows Governmental entities to charge locating fees.

Homeowners who perform their own digs/demolitions are exempted from locating fees.

The following are exempted from MDOT SHA locating fees:

- Contractors that perform construction or maintenance work under MDOT SHA Contracts
- Work performed by local towns, counties, or other municipalities

Questions should be directed to MDOT SHA's Miss Utility Hotline at 443-572-5264